Daily Prompt: Vice

Vice
via Daily Prompt: Vice

Pain is an addiction

I return again and again

The wrong words, the wrong man

The wrong me

Yet I repeat these mistakes

As if for the first time every time

What is it that attracts me

To tears, and breaking, and making up?

The thrill of taking you down

Reducing you to my size

Higher than high when I get to be right

Standing over you

Self-righteousness in my hand

Shooting into my veins

Sustaining me before the lows come

Heartache is my vice.
Copyright © 2016 by dbpoetry
Leave a Reply

