Detente

We looked at each other and laughed

I don’t even know what was funny

For a minute I forgot

That I am supposed to hate you now

That you are not mine anymore

That if I smile at you, you win

For just a second time fell away

And I remembered

Why it ever worked in the first place

I remembered

Why I let so many things go

Until it was all gone

And there wasn’t anything left

To let go of

I knew you felt it too

That brief smile memory

That came out of nowhere

And went back into nowhere

Just as quickly as it had come

So we could go back

Take up our positions

And finish the business

Of winning once more.




Copyright © 2016 by dbpoetry
Leave a Reply

